It struck me today on the way home, that yes, its true, the Kings -- my Kings! -- won the Stanley Cup this year. This still boggles Aspiring Author's concussion rattled mind*. This is good in the 'now-I-can-die-happy' sort of way. So as I am zoning out on the local freeway thinking about LA Hockey goodness, I also was thinking of who I was watching those games with.
I watched one game alone. Game 1. All by myself on a Wednesday night because Loving Wife was traveling. But all the other games I watched with my brother and I even got to watch two games with my Dad AND my brother along with Loving Wife.**
This is important because a) the brother and I grew up as local SoCal dudes who liked hockey before that guy named Gretzky showed up in California and made Hollywood spring a woody about hockey and the rest of us pop a middle finger at the new (read: much higher) ticket prices, and b) it was our Dad that got us into that by taking us to Kings games at the old Forum in Inglewood to watch the Kings in their Forum Blue (its frickin' purple!) and Gold.
So basically, the whole gang was back together to watch a few games of our Kings, who we have been rooting for as long as we have been alive. I got to watch my Kings in the Stanley Cup Finals in June with my best friend (that's Loving Wife in case you missed it), my brother, my dad and even the Kiddo, who usually was playing Minecraft, but even came out to check the score and knew exactly what was going on.
So the Kings winning the Cup is awesome. The fact I got to watch them win the cup with the hockey-lovingist members of my family is batshit crazy awesome.
Oh, and not to leave her out, my mom called me and the brother from two time zones away to say "Did you just see that?!?!" when the Kings won, which automatically makes her Best Mom Evah!
I love you all.
*Aside the first: there is a chance that concussion rattled mind is causing hallucinations and I only think the Kings won the cup. If that is true, I am going to fill a garden hose with sand and beat the ever living crap out of whoever sold me $300 worth of Kings championship swag.
** Aside the second: I got to watch two games with Dad, but all parties involved agreed that we needed to send his ass home to Arizona before game six because the Kings were 0-2 with him in California. It worked, they won game six with him back home.
No comments:
Post a Comment